8th International Conference on Greek Linguistics

The Linguistics department will organise the 8th International Conference on Greek Linguistics.

This conference is held every two years. The 8th ICGL will be held from the 30th of August to the 2nd of September 2007.


Abstract Submission Deadline: 31-Dec-2006
Meeting Email: linguist@cc.uoi.gr

The conference welcomes papers on any area of Greek Linguistics. Papers will be chosen by the organizing committee on the basis of abstracts submitted. The final program is intended to represent a broad range of approaches to Greek Linguistics including but not limited to: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, Greek dialects, historical linguistics, sociolinguistics, acquisition, psycholinguistics, neurolinguistics, computational linguistics, lexicology/lexicography, and applied linguistics.

Please submit an abstract as a pdf file, if possible. MSWord is acceptable if the abstract contains no special fonts. We accept only electronic submissions. Abstracts should be anonymous, no longer than one page, with a font no smaller than 11 pt and have a 2.5 cm (1 inch) margin on all sides. Papers may be in Greek or English.

Please send your submission to: linguist@cc.uoi.gr.
Send all your information—Name, Affiliation, and Title of the paper, as well as the subfield of linguistics which you would like your paper to be considered for—in the body of the message and attach the abstract without name and affiliation.

Talks are 20 minutes, plus 10 minutes for discussion. Submissions are limited to one singly authored and one jointly authored abstract per author, either in the general session or in one of the thematic sessions.

The conference will also include a limited number (3-4) of thematic sessions. These sessions will contain a small number of talks (up to six) on a single theme. Prospective session organizers should contact the conference organizing committee as soon as possible, but no later than the general conference submission deadline, 31 December 2006. They should submit a brief outline of the theme and purpose of the special session (max. one page), together with the abstracts for these sessions en block.

  • Vit Bubenik (Memorial University at Newfoundland, Canada)
  • Geoffrey Horrocks (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Marina Nespor (Università degli Studi di Ferrara, Italy)
  • Loukas Tsitsipis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece)
  • Christoforos Charalabakis (University of Athens, Greece)
More information on travel, accommodation, organization, etc will appear on the conference website as it becomes available.

Submission Deadline : December 31, 2006
Acceptance Notification : March 15, 2007

The organizing committee,

Mary Baltazani (University of Ioannina)
Georgios K. Giannakis (University of Ioannina)
Konstantinos Ikonomou (University of Ioannina)
Anastasios Tsangalidis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
George J. Xydopoulos (University of Ioannina)

Department of Linguistics,
University of Ioannina,
Ioannina, 45110

Tel: (+30) 26510 95216
Fax: (+30) 26510-95251